20-Year-Old Hunter S. Thompson’s Superb Advice on How to Find Your Purpose and Live a Meaningful Life

It is not necessary to accept the choices handed down to you by life as you know it.” – Hunter S. Thompson

It’s also not necessary to make a choice. And in this letter in the link HST writes that we make each decision whether it is resolve or it is an indecision.

Lately I have been stymied by my past choices that have brought me to where I am now. I feel unhealthy and have a great desire to open the door and walk as far as I can possibly go until I feel more fulfilled than I do now. Have I made the wrong choices? Have I been the master of my own disintegration?  Literally yes but maybe I am waiting for something to happen. Maybe I have to make it happen. Maybe now is a time to throw out all burdens of the past and go on to make new memories for the future.

…the tragedy of life — is that we seek to understand the goal and not the man.

These tasks I am assembling to make my life “better”, maybe they are pointless. Maybe they are the wrong ones for me. I know that my past goals were obtained and now completed hold no charm for me.

To put our faith in tangible goals would seem to be, at best, unwise…. …we must make the goal conform to the individual, rather than make the individual conform to the goal.

I have only succeeded in the past by tweaking my own reactions to what I was doing and what results I was getting when I was focused on a certain result. Ah it is late and I am tired. Go and read the article and his letter. I will need to again to inspire myself to choose to do something. Or not…

 

 

