Tags

, , , , ,

http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2013/07/29/kerkhof-worry-technique/

This is a link to a Brain Pickings blog entry:

What the Psychology of Suicide Prevention Teaches Us About Controlling Our Everyday Worries

It deals with taking control of how much we worry. I know that sounds silly. “This is a post on suicide right? So what’s this about ‘worry’? Aren’t we speaking about death?”
Before action usually there’s usually contemplation.
I know that I have constant thoughts of suicide. That doesn’t mean that I act every time I have thoughts of it. This page explains two ways to deal with these thoughts. I haven’t thoroughly read it through but enough to know it reminds me of CBT.

 

 

 

This is something that I am leaving on this blog entry for myself and anyone else who is involved in IPS:

While some peer agencies may not use official assessments (suicide assessments and screening forms). We do; however, utilize our trainings in suicide prevention to help those who may be suffering from suicidal ideation. We utilize open communication and believe in sharing our personal experiences to help those suffering to make decisions. What works best, learning that it is okay to ask individuals if they are considering suicide.

The response was: Some agencies who are regulated need to ask certain ‘questions’. Has anyone has seen a model that works for clinical staff based on this concept and something that can be done during screening. The bigger dilemma is making sure staff is trained in this approach. I agree its not just simple “yes & no” and can be complicated and more triggering not to mention ineffective to assess suicide risk. 

 

Speak with Scott Perkins of the Missouri Suicide Prevention Project. He is well versed in education and training for those working in all types of environments. You can find him and the MSPP on Facebook. 

