My Mother told me that since animals don’t have souls they don’t go on to heaven. My Mother is a scientist and even though as I child that was the one thing I definitely thought was sh!t, I never told her so. I believe if there is a soul then animals have one. And coming across this article on Brain Pickings, I also found something else I believe. Animals can have mental illness. 

We have 3 black cats . The 2 brothers were feral when they were given to a foster “parent” to raise and socialize. 

I actually have to stop here. I think I’m going to be sick. It makes me think of what will happen to them if my Mother passes on. I’m sorry.

Image

This is not me. This is one of the cats. That is not a happy cat. That cat hates being hugged.

Animal Madness: How Deciphering Mental Illness in Our Fellow Beings Helps Us Become Better Versions of Ourselves

 

Animal Madness: How Deciphering Mental Illness in Our Fellow Beings Helps Us Become Better Versions of Ourselves

“…Senior TED Fellow Laurel Braitman explores in Animal Madness: How Anxious Dogs, Compulsive Parrots, and Elephants in Recovery Help Us Understand Ourselves (public library). Braitman, who holds a Ph.D. in history and anthropology of science from MIT, argues that we humans are far from unique in our capacity for “emotional thunderstorms that make our lives more difficult” and that nonhuman animals are bedeviled by varieties of mental illness strikingly similar to our own. With equal parts rigor and compassion, she examines evidence from veterinary science, psychology and pharmacology research, first-hand accounts by neuroscientists, zoologists, animal trainers, and other experts, the work of legendary scientists and philosophers like Charles Darwin and Rene Descartes, and her own experience with dozens of animals spanning a multitude of species and mental health issues, from depressed dogs to self-harming dolphins to canine Alzheimer’s and PTSD….”

